About Us

Yum

 

About the Writers

I started this blog about 4 years ago and it’s been a blessing to watch it grow. Due to the growth I was not able to keep up with it on my own and needed to enlist more writers. Meet the team and faces behind donnahup.com!

Meet Donna:

donnahup.com

Myles & Donna Hup

I love to cook, craft, travel, read and watch movies. I am obsessed with glitter, super heroes, dinosaurs and kindness. Love my small-town Midwest life!

My name is Donna.  I am a city girl gone small town.  I am originally from Fort Lauderdale, Florida (born and raised) and I now live in the small town of Northwood, IA which is in north Iowa right on the Minnesota border.

I am a child of God, a wife, a stepmom, a grandma, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, an artist,  a girly girl (and a trucker) Yes, I team drove a semi truck cross country with my husband. I love to travel and this was an awesome way to see the country. 

 In my free time I enjoy crafting, baking, reading and watching movies.  My favorite crafting supplies include (but are not limited to) glitter, modge podge, scrapbook paper and glass. I love to both cook and bake, but it seems like when given a choice to make anything I choose yummy desserts.  I could read books all day long and prefer to read books before seeing the movie.  I love all sorts of movies but some of my favorites are Sci-Fi, action, and comedies.  

I graduated from University of South FL in Tampa, FL with a degree in Chemistry.  I think science and dinosaurs are so cool! And yes, I totally realize I’m a nerd and I’m okay with that :)

I also write for Winnebago, North Iowa Local and Vacation Maybe.

Colossians 3:23 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters”

I started blogging because I enjoyed it.  I really had no idea the adventure I was starting.  I love being able to share with you all.

My husband and I met online! Yes, I got him from the internet, lol.  We’ve been married for 8 years and I’m so thankful for him!

I have 2 stepchildren, Trever (23) and Stacia (21) and one grand daughter, Athena (1 year old).

Meet Diane:

donnahup My sister and her family

Diane and her family

I am a busy mom of 3.  I have 2 boys and a girl. I love my family and all that comes with it, although it keeps me on my toes! I love to be active and healthy, running, biking and hot yoga. And I love being a part of the sports that my kids play. Our family loves football! I love to be creative, whether drawing or painting, to decorating and building things with the kids.

I also enjoy the Real Estate market. I am a realtor and I love to see so many different properties and finding people exactly what they are looking for! I have a heart for those who do not have voices-I work with a non for profit called Refuge for Women. We are in the process of building a home for girls leaving the sex industry and trafficking. There are so many girls and boys out there that are forgotten–we try to bring awareness on the situation and give people a chance to help.

I love getting to be able to blog-I love the new adventures that it brings to myself and my family! I love that my children get to have a voice on the blog as well! Getting to try new things and being able to express myself about it is such a great opportunity!

Her oldest son, Jayden is also a contributor.

Meet Jayden:

jayden pic

Jayden

Jayden is 11 years old and in the 6th grade. He plays football and will be starting baseball this year.  He loves to draw and cook.  He also enjoys watching football and basketball. He is active in his church youth group and school youth group. He volunteers in his local neighborhood and church as well. He enjoys playing soccer and skateboarding. His favorite food is BBQ Ribs.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Meet Joycy:

Joycy pic

Joycy

Joycy is a perpetual learner who lives life with her eyes wide open.  Joycy is grateful for the life experiences that have brought her to where she is and looks forward to seeing what the future holds!

Joycy grew up in a Caribbean household and was influenced by the plethora of cultures the South Floridan lifestyle provides from a young age.  She is the proud mother of one wildly creative, out of the box thinking teenager, an aunt to a lively toddler crew comprised of one nephew, two nieces, and 2 identical twin nephews on the way!

Her hobbies include: running, reading, working out, enjoying a great meal with friends & loved ones, traveling and diving into her next project or adventure.

Aptly named, she finds “joy” in her close relationships and is passionate about mentoring teens and young women.  Joycy is a former elementary school teacher turned Mental Health Therapist based in the South Florida area.

Joycy’s motto to living is: “We only have one life to live – it’s our responsibility to takes risks, trust in what we don’t see and fully live the life God’s given us.”

 

 

 

Meet Robin:

robin family

Robin and her family

Hi! My name is Robin Russell. I am first and foremost a child of God. I am married to my best friend Mark, who is a web developer and nature and wildlife photographer. I am a small town gal, living in rural Minnesota, raising and home schooling my three, soon to be four kiddos. Madeline is 8, the twins Naomi and Titus are 5, and Timothy will soon join our family at the end of January.

I love anything outdoors! Horseback riding, bike riding with our family, camping, hiking, and cross country skiing are a few of my favorites! I also enjoy traveling, finding amazing restaurants and darling boutiques that have delicious food, unique gifts and treasures, and meeting new people along my way. You’ll also find me covered in flour as I bake delicious bread, tasty cookies, or whatever my kid’s and I can come up with. I also enjoy the hunt to dream up and find the perfect flavors my family loves as I cook meals my family will not only eat, but enjoys. I am passionate about natural and organic living and strive to feed my family the freshest and most quality meats we can afford. You’ll often find me making yogurt, chopping cabbage and other ingredients for sauerkraut, making kombucha. It’s important to me to feed my family eggs from free range chickens, as well as fresh raw milk. There is nothing more delicious than fresh amazing food straight from the farmer!

I began writing as a young teenage girl trying to make sense of the world around me and it has remained a passion of mine.